With sadness bye bye India

There are some things that I really don’t want to forget about India. For close to 3 months, I have called India home (albeit a temporary nomadic home, it was home nevertheless).

20121109-200339.jpgAmazing sunsets in Kerala

I thought I would put them in a blog post (more for me more than for you), but if you ever get to India these are a few random things you might see and do.

The first thing that struck me was the swastika symbol. Apparently Hitler had stolen it from India, and the original meaning behind it is really beautiful!

20121102-135205.jpg
Thanks Wikipedia: “It remains widely used in Indian religions, specifically in Hinduism, Buddhism, and Jainism, primarily as a tantric symbol to evoke shakti (meaning peace) or the sacred symbol of auspiciousness. The word “swastika” comes from the Sanskrit svastika – “su” meaning “good,” “asti” meaning “to be,” and “ka” as a suffix. The swastika literally means “to be good”. Or another translation can be made: “swa” is “higher self”, “asti” meaning “being”, and “ka” as a suffix, so the translation can be interpreted as “being with higher self”.”

Pity how such a beautiful begining was turned into such a horror.

Some things that I wont forget:
– Weird time differences – 3.5 hours different from home. I’ve never been to a zone which breaks the hour.

– Posting parcels home – where it takes you a whole day to get it done. Forget African time, India takes it to a whole new level. The parcel needs to be inspected by customs, weighed, then wrapped in white clothe, stitched closed and sealed with wax.

– Constant change problems. A Rs200 note would make all the difference to the current Rs 100, Rs500 and Rs1000 large notes.

– Amazingly sweet chai available everywhere. The best chai comes from street vendors who boil all ingredients right then and there in front of you.

Things I’ll be happy to forget:
– The dirt. There a literally no dirt-bins in India and locals throw plastic on the ground or simply burn heaps of plastic in the street. I wont even go into the affects of burning plastic on the environment, but after watching cows eat what had been thrown onto the ground, I am happy to be a vegetarian.

20121109-195919.jpg

20121109-200058.jpg
– The spitting. At times you need to watch men and woman closely to ensure that you don’t get spat on. Its such a large part of their culture that there are ‘Spitting’ buckets in some parks (no bins, but spitting buckets?! Go figure).

– Every culture has a habit that is seen as common ground in one culture, yet rude in another. This applies to loud public burping and nasal clearing snorting, which alway seemed to happen while in a yoga or meditation class.

I know my three point above are me judging a culture. I may have brought them across as negatives here, but they did teach me a lot when it comes to accepting others and keeping an open mind while discovering my world.

Another little negative is the sale of semi precious stones in India. I met a Nepali jeweler who was trying to sell me semi-precious stones and after being ripped off in Varkala, I was hesitant. He laughed and said “I.N.D.I.A – I’ll Never Do It Again”, and with regards to precious stones or precious materials I dont actually have experience in – I think I’ll stick to my jeweler in South Africa for my jewellery needs from now on.

Having said that though… My 3 months spent in India were life changing.

20121109-200708.jpg
Remembering the first rickshaw driver that ripped me off, to the last one I took to leave India. How different my attitude was and how sweet and polite I was back then. Remembering how easy it is to get around India – trains, planes, buses and rickshaw rides that I will never forget.

20121109-201429.jpg
Remembering food – yummy yummy vegetarian food available EVERYWHERE and with such wide varieties – non of those one liners in menus – whole restaurants dedicated to vegetarians. From paratha’s in Kerala to banana lassis found everywhere – India is a culinary delight.

20121109-203217.jpgGranted momos are Tibetan – they still very yummy

20121109-204310.jpgMasala Dosa – traditional breakies

Remembering temples, statues of Shiva and Ganesh, holy rivers and sacred festivals.

20121109-214507.jpg

20121109-215300.jpg

20121109-212658.jpg

Remembering forts, palaces, holy elephants and army horses.

20121109-212802.jpg

20121109-212959.jpg

Remembering colour, laughs, crazy yoga and train rides.

20121109-210051.jpg

20121109-210246.jpg

20121109-212745.jpg

20121109-214546.jpg

Most of all – I never want to forget the amazing people I met along the way and finding awe-inspiring peace in McLeod Ganj

20121109-205907.jpg

Little travel tips:
– If a train is full you can buy a ‘Tatkal’ ticket (emergency ticket) from the train station on the day of travel;
– By telling local touts that this isn’t your first time in the country will mean that you’re less likely to be ripped off. I know this sounds strange – but I noticed how prices of things varied hugely just by answering the “First time in India?” with a NO;
– The price of ANYTHING (often including guesthouses) is a third of what they quote you. Local touts have the mentality that if you’re willing to pay first price, then you deserve to be ripped off;
– Do get to Rajasthan and see some incredible forts. Even if places seem to be out of the travelers way, it is well worth it

20121108-085741.jpg

Namaste
Xx

Categories: India | Tags: , , , | 7 Comments

Post navigation

7 thoughts on “With sadness bye bye India

  1. Sounds like you had a great time in India. I have never been myself, but will definitely make it over there one day. Unfortunately I am always hearing about how dirty is is there and how they try and rip you off and that its not the safest country to travel in. Would you say its safe enough for a woman to travel alone in?

    • Hi Janaline, thank you for your comment.

      It was an incredible journey, but yes it us SO dirty, and yes they try rip you off at every opportunity and unfortunately yes it is unsafe for a woman to travel alone. Having said that though – I would not change it for the world. I guess its more of adapting to the culture and keeping one eye open all the time.

      I loved reading parts of your Russia trip – sounds awesome!

  2. H there, I’m in India at the moment with my girlfriend and loving every minute…we are at an orphanage at the moment which is amazing. Your comments on India are so true, and to each of them I feel sums up this weirdly fantastic place! Thanks. Chris

  3. Hi darling friend,
    These photo’s are just amazing 🙂 The cows? Wow – brilliant.
    Missing you but hope the adventure continues to be fulfilling and fun
    xx

  4. oy, i laughed out loud reading the things you’d be happy to forget. oh that burping…and farting…during silent meal time and meditation no less! i still can’t help but giggle when i’m trying to om out and i hear a fart….heehee
    and spit buckets? whaaaa?

    your pictures are beautiful. you are beautiful. ❤

Leave a comment

Blog at WordPress.com.